The Wedding Dress

I found my wedding dress.

But not the traditional way- let me explain…

Are you familiar with the scene in Sex and the City (the movie) when SJP shocks Charlotte and the wedding planner by proclaiming that she already found her outfit for her wedding.

No label. Vintage. Simple.

And they gasp. “What?! No Label? The bride wore a dress by… no one.”

But SJP loves her choice. She sticks to her fashion choice and is happy with it- it is simple. Classic. And romantic. Just like her and Big.

Mr. Big = Mr. Speedy. But Mr. Speedy is cuter.

Mr. Big = Mr. Speedy. But Mr. Speedy is cuter.

That is what I did. I mean, kind of.

“Do you want to go shopping soon for your dress?” my girlfriend asked.
“Oh no, I already bought it,” I responded.
“WHAT. WHATTTTTTT. You already BOUGHT your dress?”
“Yes,” I replied with a smirk.
“When? How? We didn’t even go shopping!?” my friend shouted.
“I found it online. It was a steal and well, I put it in my cart and clicked BUY.”

Her mouth dropped wide open and her face was a mixed of nervous excitement and pure confusion.

I wasn’t planning on finding a wedding dress via the internet on a random Monday evening with only my brother, Louis, at home for opinions.
But somehow, that is how it happened.
And somehow, it worked out.

Four quick days later, it arrived at my doorstep. But because I live in a house with Pirate-people that snatch mail, I did not locate the box until today, 5 days after it’s arrival (someone strategically hid it in the dining room). Quickly, my mother (who had just got out of the pool and was in her suit) and I ran up to her room to try it on.

We opened up the box, holding our breaths. A million questions buzzed in my head – would this look like the picture? What if it got damaged? What if it looks horrible on me? I pulled back the fire red tissue paper and squealed with excitement- it looked perfect. PERFECT.

With her help, we slipped it over my head and I didn’t even need a mirror to conclude it looked beautiful- my Mom had tears forming.

“Oh…. it is beyond stunning, Lillian. It is just beyond anything.”

As I peeked in the mirror and caught a glimpse of myself and thought of Mr. Speedy, I started to cry. I didn’t even have to look at it fully- it just felt different than anything I had ever tried on. I felt different. Changed.

And then Pirate wandered into the bedroom, in his bathing suit (EVERYONE IS ALWAYS IN A BATHING SUIT), and had slight tears in his eyes too.

SO…. What does it look like?

WELL I CAN’T TELL YOU ANYTHING ABOUT THE WAY IT LOOKS BECAUSE MR. SPEEDY READS THIS.

But I can tell you this-

  • It was less than $400. YEAH THAT IS RIGHT. LADIES YOU CAN FIND A DRESS FOR A REASONABLE PRICE.
  • It is not your typical wedding dress but once you see it, you will think ‘Oh that is such a pretty wedding dress!’
  • It does not require me to having any assistance while peeing. This is wonderful because I pee often.
  • It is made of THIS and THAT and has THIS and THAT on it and THAT (so vague, I know).
  • It suits our wedding theme – the 1920s. Think vintage. Think Gatsby. Think Art Deco. Think Glitz. Think Atonement. I love that movie. Sheesh!
We will be chanelling these two for our wedding and pretending to be like them. Minus the whole going to jail and war and dying in a tunnel.

We will be channelling these two for our wedding and pretending to be like them. Minus the whole going to jail and war and dying in a tunnel.

And since I spend a whopping $388 (that includes tax, shipping) on my dress, that means I can now SPLURGE on MR SPEEDY even MORE.

And I might even pay someone decent to wax my eyebrows so they aren’t burnt. I need to figure out accessories- full veil? No veil? Shoes? Of course I’ll wear shoes, but what kind? Drop earrings? There is so much accessorizing!

This whole wedding thing, it is not as complicated as you think.

YOMO.

Sincerely,

Bride-to-be-with-a-dress

17 thoughts on “The Wedding Dress

  1. YEAH!!!! Best story ever! My dress was only $350! I sure wish I lived there! I’d wax your eyebrows perfectly every week and extra special for the wedding! Just wait til you see me work my hair magic this weekend! We are so excited for your shower/engagement/open house gala this fall! We already were talking food/decor/deserts etc.! See ya in 5 days!

  2. I AM SO GLAD it fits and that you love it!! Shopping online can be hit or miss, you got SOOO LUCKY!! I am SO excited to SEE you in this dress..IN PERSON!! YESYESYESS!! YOMO..bahaha..ohh yes.

  3. Ahhhhh EXCITING!!!!!! I can’t wait to see it. I bet you look stunning and you and Mr. Speedy are going to make me even more envious of your perfect-couple-ness. ❤

    • I cant wait to show you and everyone!!! hopefully i am photogenic that day…. or else we might have to photoshop my head.

      dont be envious- youll meet that ‘one’!!! patience.

  4. You did Great lillian the best part of that movie was that fabulous dress it’s so audrey hepburn or maybe the leading man in that movie LOL.

  5. How amazing!! I would be thrilled to find a dress on the cheap. So many other places to put the money… like booze and food, my favorites haha

Leave a comment