Summer Sand

This summer has been filled with sun, sand, and sangria.

Ah. Just the way I like it.

Nieces running in the sand.

Nieces running in the sand.

For the 4th of July, Mr. Speedy’s sister, her husband, and their three children drove in from Nebraska to join us on Lake Michigan in a beach cottage.

Randomly, the property also included a train caboose:

Boxcar Children, anyone? If you know what I am referring too then we are probably book soulmates.

ANYWAYS, we spent three full days burying our toes in the sand, drinking my sister-in-law’s yummy margaritas that involved a number of things and tasted like the most delicious thing ever to hit your lips, and just being together. My brothers even joined us. Here are a few favorite snapshots:

The men in my life.

The men in my life.

Possible Titles: Lover of Me. Lover. I Drool At You, Eternally. Let Me Stare At You.

Possible Titles: Lover of Me. Lover. I Drool At You, Eternally. Let Me Stare At You.

Can we just take a moment and appreciate the utter cuteness of tiny Lillyan—-

Look at those blue eyes.

Look at those blue eyes.

Question- what do you get when you have some seashells with tiny holes, weeds, and time on your hands?

Answer: Fancy crowns only mermaids would wear.

I channeled my inner-Pocahontas and weaved this seashell crown of weeds for my niece, Londyn to wear:

Fancy!

Fancy!

Cool, RIGHT?

We even found a flower to add to it. She had to pose by her Uncle Speedy, sound asleep:

Hello? Are you alive?

Hello? Are you alive?

One of the best parts about this trip was spending time with my sister-in-law.

She is totally an inspiration for the type of mom I want to be- hard-working, supportive, organized, AND did I mention she teaches Jazzercise and is in super shape? Yeah. In between meal preps, bath time, and poopy pants, she does it all.

This e-card sums reminds me of her:

bahahahhaha

bahahahhaha

Also, her and her husband are the cutest. She will hate me for posting this picture BUT can we just comment on her hubby’s dreamy look towards her? UM SWOOOOOON:

If this is not a look of love, then I don't know what is.

If this is not a look of love, then I don’t know what is.

I loved hanging out with them.

This was our first time hanging out with another sibling married couple. It was like a rite of passage and we passed with flying colors… at least I think we did. They didn’t run way screaming to get back to Nebraska.

On a completely unrelated note, my sister-in-law is an excellent cook. She made this bean recipe that is BEYOND any type of pork n bean thing you have had. If you like beans with a BBQ, you must try this out:

Bean Casserole
1 can pork and beans
1 can kidney beans – drained
1 can butter beans – drained
1/2lb browned hamburger
1/2lb cooked bacon
1/2 cup diced sweet onion
1/2 cup ketchup
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. salt
1 TBSP vinegar
Mix all together, put in a casserole dish and bake at 350 for an hour. Howeer, she does suggest to put it in a crockpot for a better flavor! 
WARNING: Don’t eat like 5 cups like I did…. you will regret it the next day and your husband will question ever sitting next to you in a car again.
Sincerely,
Lily
8 thoughts on “Summer Sand

  1. Awww!!! I can’t wait for all the pictures!! You did pass the married couple test only because you guys act old like we do….. Haha! I do hate that picture of me but ryan does look cute:). The picture of Londyn by Cory sleeping is hilarious!!!!

  2. I LOVE SEEING A POST POP UP FROM YOU IN MY READER! Yes, it’s just like Christmas!! I want to play on that train caboose and get lost in the woods in your cabin. What a fun family adventure! I ADORE that photo of your sister in law and her husband, oh my GAAHHH the way he is looking at her. Yes, total swoon.

    I would have eaten a ton of the beans with you….we could have gas powered the car back home.

    • the train caboose was the COOLEST thing. like my kids aren’t getting a swing set, im totally going to find a caboose (that isn’t full of dangerous rust) and re-paint it and that can be their playground.

      beanssssss…. does the body good.

  3. Love this. I haven’t been to the beach in way too long which upsets me as I used to live just up the road from the sea. Our wedding is not far away though, back by the beach, and all but one of our nieces and nephews are staying with us for the weekend so I fully intend on creating a seashell crown of weeds for my nieces…and possibly nephews too!

    • yayyyy!!! sounds like it’ll be busy but lots of fun! kids in the sand are the best… they just are so entertained moving it from one bucket to another. so adorable!

      YOUR WEDDING IS SO SOON EKKK!

Leave a Reply

